In the heart of Fischen, right next to the main shopping street, is a quaint building called the “Gschwenderhaus”. Originally a farmhouse from the 17th century, it houses one of 13 FIS Ski Museums in Europe. Wooden jump skis from 1925 bear witness to the daredevil courage of the athletes of that time. Fischen once had its own ski jumping hill. A model reminds visitors of the hill record of 52 metres, set by sporting idol Toni Brutscher in 1949. Historic ice skates, Native American snowshoes and a replica of the oldest skis – 4000 years old – are just some of the fascinating exhibits that prove that skis, skates and snow tyres are among the oldest forms of transport.
All stages in the development of the ski can be traced back over the last 100 years. In Fischen, the local joiners built and repaired skis and sledges; local clothing store Ruppaner provided cross-country ski boots for the German ski team in 1968. Some bizarre exhibits, which have never quite caught on in downhill skiing, include folding skis and folding poles. In 2010, a historic descent was held for the first time on Fischen’s Stinesser slope to celebrate its 1150-year anniversary. Participants skied down the piste in nostalgic outfits on old wooden skis using original kit from the museum.
For opening times and admission prices please visit the original website.