Even from the distance, the old part of the town, built on a Jurassic limestone hill, dominates the lovely Danube valley. This imposing silhouette has remained practically unchanged for centuries. On entering the old part of the town through a gate in the medieval walls, and passing the castle built by Ottheinrich, the visitor is taken into a fascinating world of Renaissance and Baroque. The old patrician houses and aristocrats’ mansions displaying superb facades, the imposing churches, the provincial library and the ancient mint, the medieval walls and the upper and lower gates are all constant reminders of Neuburg’s rich heritage.
The first duke of the Palatinate-Neuburg principality was Duke Ottheinrich, who inherited the castle in Neuburg after a war of succession in 1505 between Palatinate and Bavarian members of the House of Wittelsbach. Ottheinrich enlarged his medieval residence into a stately palace with high Renaissance gables and a beautiful courtyard surrounded by arcades.The castle took on its present-day form during the reign of Duke Philipp Wilhelm with the addition of the Baroque eastern wing and the two round towers.
Today the Palace of Neuburg accommodates the State Gallery of Flemish Baroque Paintings with 150 works by Rubens, van Dyck and many more of the most important Flemish artists. Situated in the East Wing there is an exhibition on the topic of the „Palatinate-Neuburg Principality“ with interesting exhibits from this period. The shell grottos and the palace chapel with ist Bocksberg frescos are quite unique.