Strolling through the Prince Bishop’s gardenNot far from the UNESCO World Heritage city of Bamberg is a charming gem of a hotel from the era of the Prince Bishops, ideal for those who appreciate a more personal atmosphere and who want to get away from it all: Schloss Burgellern with its romantically wild parklands. This 18th century summer resort lies on the edge of the picturesque village of Burgellern.
The parklands are just perfect for a gentle stroll or for relaxing. The magic of these statuesque old trees and historic walls has a powerful effect. Accompanied by birdsong, bells and sunlight dancing through the leaves a walk through the seven hectares of grounds is like a trip back in time.
Light and airy four-star guest rooms each with oak parquet flooring and stylish Italian furniture from Selva add their own distinct charm to the warm ambiance. Wooden framed windows flood the rooms and bathrooms with a gentle light and afford delightful views of the gardens.
Unlike the Prince Bishops, today’s guests have access to Internet, TV and ISDN.
Instead of having a mini bar the owner himself serves guests with drinks.
Schloss Burgellern is steeped in history. In 1756 Count von Schönborn stayed for some time in Burgellern to hurry along the construction of the castle intended to be the summer residence of the Prince Bishop. The main part of the castle was completed in 1758 with the bailiff’s house following in 1772. In November 1802 ownership of Schloss Burgellern was assumed by the Prince Bishops of Bavaria. King Maximilian visited Burgellern in 1853 and King Ludwig II played in the castle grounds.
Burgellern has rapidly become extremely popular with wedding parties. Friends of the theatre annually look forward to the “Franconian Summer Theatre Festival” with performances staged in the castle grounds.
Rooms and prices:
- 17 Rooms, 5 Suites
- Rooms from € 99.00 to € 259.00